By Nick Hamblin  |  November 27, 2018


By Nick Hamblin  |  November 27, 2018

Home Nations Futsal Championships kicks off this weekend

Michael Skubala has named his squad for the upcoming Futsal Home Nations Championship this weekend!

The Futsal Lions will travel to Newry in Northern Ireland to take on Wales, Scotland and hosts Northern Ireland for the Home Nations. This is the third instalment, with England due to host next year.

Skubala has added some new and familiar faces with U23s player Jonathan Alvarez receiving his maiden senior call-up after impressing with University of Nottingham Futsal. Having personally played with Alvarez at UoN, he will be an incredible addition to the squad, and we look forward to seeing how he can impact the Home Nations Tournament. Agon Rexha recalled from FC Besa, who too will add strength to the squad.

England Schedule

  • v Wales, 4pm Fri 30 Nov
  • v Scotland, 2.30pm Sat 1 Dec
  • v N Ireland, 3.30pm Sun 2 Dec

Skubala said: “It’s great to have this yearly event when we come together as home nations for Futsal.

“For us, it’s important to have a four-team tournament before we go into our World Cup qualifiers at the end of January.

“Jonathan is someone who has been developing well in the U23s and I have watched him a couple of times in the national league this season so it will be a good challenge to see if he can make the step up to international level.

“Agon has been away from the squad for a while now and has worked really hard to get back with us.

“We know Agon’s quality and I watched him recently against Sporting Lisbon in the Futsal Champions League against one of the top club teams in Europe.”


  • Mark Croft (Guardia Perticara),
  • Jonny Sim (Helvecia Futsal Club),
  • Joe Payne (Nottingham Futsal Club),
  • Stuart Cook (Helvecia Futsal Club),
  • Raoni Medina (Helvecia Futsal Club)
  • Richard Ward (Helvecia Futsal Club)
  • James Webb (Futsal Club Gambette)
  • Calvin Dickson (Helvecia Futsal Club)
  • Jonathan Alvarez (University of Nottingham Futsal Club)
  • Robbie Bettson (York City Futsal Club)
  • Liam Palfreeman (Helvecia Futsal Club)
  • Doug Reed (Sussex Futsal Club)
  • Will Rooke (Loughborough Futsal Club)
  • Curtis Mason (Loughborough Futsal)
  • William Wallace (Toulouse Metropole FC Bruguieres)
  • Jordan Edge (Manchester Futsal Club), Dean Withers (Birmingham Futsal Club)
  • Nathan Davis (Loughborough Futsal Club)
  • Agon Rexha (FC Besa Futsal).

We wish the boys the best of luck from us at The Futsal Shop, but also the community!

Source: FA.com

10 years playing experience including Middlesbrough, Futsal Club, Manchester Futsal Club, Tranmere Victoria Futsal, Liverpool Futsal, Salford Futsal, University of Nottingham, Winner of BUCS Futsal, FA Futsal Cup, National Futsal League